Results From Waterford, July 22, 2017

Nine cars showed up for the inaugural Open Vintage Modified show at the Waterford Speedbowl with eight cars taking the green. It was “Super Dave” Morgenstein (26) in for the win in his first time out with the series. Second went to Ben LeVangie (41) and third to Tom Beauregard (51) in his newly rebuilt Pinto. Rounding out the top five was Gary Byington in the 7CT and the 7NY of Jim Williams. The rest of the finish included Doug Sogolow (70), Ralph Flannery (201)and the 8 of Charlie Wilcox. A good time was had by all with good, clean racing in the feature under nice weather conditions.

Have a safe vintage modified? Join us on August 16th @ Waterford (a quick, early Wednesday show) for a good time!

Our next race:

    The next race is on July 22nd @ the Waterford Speedbowl. Be there!

New Tire Rule Now In Effect:

To all teams that have purchased new American Racer Tires….these tires will be allowed for the Open Vintage Modified race at Waterford on 7/22. Do not buy any more new tires as we will have a new tire rule effective after that date.


The past Vintage Outlaw rules are in effect except the tire rule. There are no points or monetary awards to be won.

2017 Schedule!

The Open Vintage Modified Series is happy to announce 3 races dates @ the Waterford Speedbowl. We will be appearing there on July 22nd, August 16th and September 23rd. Also,the American Racer tire rule has been rescinded. Feel free to run whatever you want.

Don’t forget – we also have the HMS Tire Softener open on September 2nd @ Star Speedway.

Very Important News:

Art Chartier has stepped away from being the head of the Vintage Outlaws operation. Gary Byington, of New England Racing Fuel fame, is now in charge and is in the process of creating news rules to level the racing playing field, as well as new rules aimed at lowering the cost of our racing. The series has 3 confirmed dates for the Waterford Speedbowl and they will be posted soon. The series has been renamed “Open Vintage Modifieds”.
If you have any questions about the new series contact Gary @ 860-558-5292 between the hours of 7:00AM and 9:00PM.

Thompson Historic Invitational Results

The Vintage Outlaws invaded the Thompson Speedway on May 19 and raced in conjunction with the annual Thompson Historic Invitational event. The top 5 finishers were Jim Lowrey (07) followed by Derek Robbie (7NY), Gary Byington (7CT),  Wade Gagner (12) and Doug Sogolow (70). The next event is @ Star Speedway on May 27th. If you have an acceptable car come run with us for some good, clean fun!

Results From Icebreaker 2017:

The Vintage Outlaws opened their season on April 8th at the Thompson Speedway under cold and windy conditions. Coming in for the win was Jim Lowrey (07)  followed by Bill Boudreau (23) and Charlie Pasteryak (making a guest appearance in Doug Sogolow’s Flying 70).

Rounding out the field were Paul Jaques (7NY) , John Furno (7CT) , Charlie Wilcox (8) and Art Merchant (64).

The race went green to checker. Everyone went home frozen and happy.

2017 Schedule & Info:

The 2017 Vintage Outlaws Schedule has been announced. For the first time in 2017, the Vintage Outlaws will run for points. American Racer Tire will pay for the point fund for the Vintage Outlaws in 2017. Bill Galloway and Jim Darlington from Dave Lind Racing will pay a portion of every tire sold to the point fund in 2017. The series will run exclusively on American Racer Tire.

Sunoco Race Fuel will also be the official fuel supplier of the Vintage Outlaws. Each winner of the Vintage Outlaws will receive a $25 dollar gift certificate from Sunoco Race Fuels.

Thirty Marketing will also return as a series sponsor for the 2017 season.

The series will also allow Cavalier bodies based on approval from the board. (See post below)

The series will kickoff their 2017 season at the 43rd Annual Icebreaker at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park on Saturday April 1st.

The series will have four visits to the New London-Waterford Speedbowl kicking off the track’s season opener on May 6th with the Modified Touring Series and will make a second appearance in the month of May on the 20th and come back on Saturday July 15th. September 23rd will will the Outlaws final visit of the season to Waterford.

They will head to Star Speedway for three appearances on May 27th, July 22nd and September 2nd. The HMS event on September 2nd will be a non points event.

The series will crown a champion at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday September 23rd.

A race or two maybe added to the schedule. – Matthew Wiernasz